Archive for August 7th, 2009

07
Aug
09

Highest Tax Rates

Once my teacher in 10th standard posed this question to me

Guess whats the highest tax rate Indians have paid? and the answer to it was (as far as I remember) in the range of 90-95% which made me (like everone else) wonder why would you earn in the first place?

This question got triggered when I met this guy (think from Sweden) during an exchange programme where I was told that taxes are as high as 40% BUT the difference is the government pays for all the education expenses.

These incidents trigger two questions

1. What are the highest tax rates in the world?

2. Why should we have such high tax rates?

The answer to the first question could be found out thru a simple wiki

Some countries like Angola, Benin, Denmark, Sweden have tax rates as high as 60%. There are several other countries like Belgium, Cuba, Gabon etc… which have tax rates at about 50% which means 50% of the salary you earn… is taken away by the government.

This is a tricky situation. If government can pay for all my basic necessities and cut equivalent tax… Then I would prefer shirking (unless I am very ambitious).




So what’s this blog about?

Another attempt? Well yes. Attempting to figure out another sustainable model (there are some other attempts going on parallel-ly). Well, we have a lot of questions in mind. we read up stuff, we do some research to find answers to these questions. This is an attempt to publish that little 15-20 minute research.

Click to subscribe to One Post Daily.

Join 5 other subscribers