Abel Prize

John Tate of the United States wins the Abel Prize in 2010 “for his vast and lasting impact on the theory of numbers”. So, what is this Abel Prize?

The Abel Prize is an international prize presented annually by the King of Norway to one or more outstanding mathematicians. The prize is named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel (1802–1829). It has often been described as the “mathematician’s Nobel” prize and is among the most prestigious awards in mathematics. It comes with a monetary award of six million kroner, which in 2009 was €684,000 or US$929,000.

The only Indian by origin to win it so far was S. R. Srinivasa Varadhan in 2007 “for his fundamental contributions to probability theory and in particular for creating a unified theory of large deviation”.


0 Responses to “Abel Prize”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

So what’s this blog about?

Another attempt? Well yes. Attempting to figure out another sustainable model (there are some other attempts going on parallel-ly). Well, we have a lot of questions in mind. we read up stuff, we do some research to find answers to these questions. This is an attempt to publish that little 15-20 minute research.

Click to subscribe to One Post Daily.

Join 5 other followers